Steinbach, MB

21°c Overcast

Full Forecast



Sabres dole out team awards

By: Terry Frey

Posted: 11/22/2018 9:20 AM

  • Print
The SRSS Sabres football teams announced their annual award winners at a banquet Wednesday night at the SRSS.


The SRSS Sabres football teams announced their annual award winners at a banquet Wednesday night at the SRSS.


The SRSS Sabres held their annual football awards banquet Wednesday night at the SRSS as a variety of top performers, hardest workers and Hall of Fame players were announced, among the bevy of awards.

Now with two teams, junior varsity and varsity, there are a growing number of individuals that were honoured at the annual awards gala.

Varsity quarterback Sawyer Thiessen, considered the top the quarterback in the Winnipeg High School Football League, although still only in grade 10, was named Sabres varsity MVP. Mason Hartung, running back and QB, was named MVP of the junior varsity squad.

Other award winners were as follows: Top Offensive Player: Ethan Gruninger (Varsity), Jaxon Gruninger (JV); Top Defensive Player: Isaac Dokken (Varsity), Caelan Poetker (JV); Top Special Teams Player: Payton Falk (Varsity), Rylan Penner (JV); Top Lineman: Thomas Peters (Varsity), Graham Hunter (JV); Most Improved Player: David Dueck (Varsity), Austin Duerksen (JV).

Two other varsity awards were also handed out as Cade Penner received the Legacy Award and Brad Waldner the Koby Memorial Award.

The Workout Warriors, as chosen by varsity head coach Stephen Fedus, for exemplary work in off-season strength and conditioning, are Xander Turner, Thomas Peters, Tristan Wiebe, Caleb Pammett, Markus Ginter, Lucas Tourond, Jedrik Francisco, Michael Amador and Ryan Kincaid.

Named 2018 Honour Role Players were Austin Duerksen, Jedrik Francisco, Bryson Friesen, Jerrick Peters, Tyson Greenham, Caelan Poetker, Markus Ginter, Luke Mehling, Cade Penner and Sawyer Thiessen.

The 2017 Ring of Honour went to three graduating players from last year: Tyler Bueckert, Eric Adams and Shecoy Select.

And going into the 2018 Hall of Fame, for past players from the years 2011-13, are Luke McAllister and Devon Bueckert.



More Sports News

  • Sultans gain split with A's

    05/21/2019 10:09 AM

    The Carillon Sultans continued their strong start to this Manitoba Junior Baseball League season gaining a Victoria Day split with the St. James A’s at Optimist Park in Winnipeg on Monday.

    Carillon now sits in second place in the loop with ...

  • Steinbach native Ralph Krueger, pictured here in Winnipeg coaching the Swiss national team in an exhibition game prior to the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver, has been named the head coach of the Buffalo Sabres.

    Krueger named head coach of Buffalo Sabres

    05/16/2019 12:12 PM
  • 150 years of sports to be documented

    05/14/2019 1:04 PM

    In conjunction with Manitoba’s 150th birthday in 2020, Sport Manitoba is teaming up with Winnipeg author Sean Grassie to create a book featuring 150 iconic Manitoba sport stories. The book project is being developed in support of the KidSport Manitoba ...

Ads by Google

Electronic Copies

The Carillon single copy cover

Annual Subscription

Back issues available with an e-subscription

Subscribe to single copy
$1.50 each (includes tax)

May 16, 2019 copy now available

Read this week’s classifieds